An Introduction to Holst



The Planets:
1 Mars - The Bringer of War 7:23 
2 Venus - The Bringer of Peace 8:58 
3 Mercury - The Winged Messenger 4:11 
4 Jupiter - The Bringer of Jollity 7:29 
5 Saturn - The Bringer of Old Age 10:03 
6 Uranus - The Magician 6:02 
7 Neptune - The Mystic 8:07

Brook Green Suite

St Paul's Suite, Op. 29 No. 2

Product Information

'In every respect this latest Holst anthology from Chandos will be hard to beat. The recording is superb - very real indeed…' The Penguin Complete Guide

The early 20th-century British composer, Gustav Holst was deeply influenced by England's countryside and folksong, and adopted a consciously nationalist style in his music. The Planets is full of high voltage writing, with an acute feeling for atmospheric colour. Scored for a very large orchestra it is joyful, magnetic and powerful and a brilliant introduction to Holst.

Three of Holst's most famous works are gathered on one bargain CD.

Gibson's performances of The Planets was a famous demonstration CD on its initial release, being both the first digital recording of this work and the first available on CD. It remains sonically spectacular.

General Fields

  • : 095115202623
  • : ode
  • : ode
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : -