`A timely and important book . . . he brings to it rare clarity and common sense. His book is a fast-paced account of the last sixteen months of the tsar's life; brief, sharp, but laced with well-judged feeling for the dramas of the time... read more

General Fields
: 9781447293101
: Pan Macmillan
: Pan Books
: 197mm X 130mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Robert Service
: 2 x 8pp b/w
: 400
: 940
: English
: Main Market Ed.
: Paperback
: books
The Last of the Tsars: Nicholas II and the Russian Revolution
$28.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

October 1967 during the height of the Vietnam War Craig Anderson, John Barilla, Michael Lindner and Rick Bailey, deserted the US Intrepid; smuggled from Tokyo to Sweden via Moscow with the help of a Japanese an... read more

General Fields
: 9781447294764
: Pan Macmillan
: Picador
: 234mm X 153mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Matthew Sweet
: 352
: Air Iri OME
: Paperback
: books
Operation Chaos: The Vietnam Deserters Who Fought the CIA, the Brainwashers, and Each Other
$38.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

In 865, a great Viking army landed in East Anglia, precipitating a series of wars that would last until the middle of the following century. It was in this time of crisis that the modern kingdoms of Britain were born. In their responses to the Viki... read more

General Fields
: 9781784080303
: Head of Zeus
: Head of Zeus
: 23.40 cmmm X 15.30 cmmm X 4.70 cmmm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Max Adams
: 50 integrated b&w illus
: 512
: 942.0164092
: en
: Hardback
: books
Aelfred's Britain: War and Peace in the Viking Age
$55.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 History

Series:Big Ideas Simply Explained

Travel back in time with the latest instalment in the bestselling Big Ideas series. The History Book charts world history from the dawn of civilisation to the modern culture we live in today. From the origins of homo-sapiens to the release of Nelson Mand... read more

General Fields
: 9780241225929
: Dorling Kindersley Ltd
: DK
: 233mm X 195mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Dorling Kindersley
: 352
: 909
: en
: 1
: Hardback
: books
The History Book (Big Ideas Simply Explained)
$48.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

The Times has the most famous letters page of any newspaper. This delightful selection of over 300 items of correspondence over the last century shows precisely why. As a forum for debate, playground for opinion-formers, advertising sp... read more

General Fields
: 9780008249496
: Gardners Books
: Gardners Books
: 24.00 cmmm X 15.90 cmmm X 3.80 cmmm
Special Fields
: James (EDT) Owen
: 512
: 808
: English
: Hardcover
: books
The Times Great Letters : Notable Correspondence to the Newspaper
$45.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 History

'A brilliant and appealing book. The story it tells is fascinating and compelling, leaving me thirsty to try some of the wines that are its subject' -Tim James, Wine MagOnce upon a time, the region of Champagne produced only still wines - wines that were not meant to sparkle... read more

General Fields
: 9781760630690
: Allen & Unwin
: Allen & Unwin
: 208mm X 153mm
: Australia
Special Fields
: Robert Walters
: Paperback
: books
Champagne: A Secret History
$37.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

As a child he was given his own suit of armour; in 1346, at the age of 16, he helped defeat the French at Crecy; and in 1356 he captured the King of France at Poitiers. For the chronicler Jean Froissart, 'He was the flower of all chivalry'; for the Chandos H... read more

General Fields
: 9781784972936
: Head of Zeus
: Head of Zeus
: 234mm X 153mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Michael Jones
: 8pp illus
: 400
: 920
: English
: Hardcover
: books
The Black Prince : The King That Never Was
$55.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Australia's bestselling maritime historian explores the story of how the Dutch discovered Australia. For many, the colonial story of Australia starts with Captain Cook's discovery of the east coast in 1770, but it was some 164 years before his historic vo... read more

General Fields
: 9780733338663
: ABC Books
: Abc Books
: Australia
Special Fields
: Rob Mundle
: 368
: Paperback
: books
Dampier, the Dutch and the Great South Land
$28.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Suzanne Spaak was born into the Belgian Catholic ruling class and married into the country's leading political family. Her brother-in-law was the Foreign Minister and her husband Claude was a playwright and patron of th... read more

General Fields
: 9781925266207
: Allen & Unwin
: Allen & Unwin
: 234mm X 153mm
: Australia
Special Fields
: Anne Nelson
: 1
: Main
: Paperback
: books
Codename Suzette: An extraordinary story of resistance and rescue in Nazi Paris
$33.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

2017 PROSE Award Winner: Outstanding Scholarly Work by a Trade Publisher
 
In the vein of Jane Jacobs’s The Death and Life of Great American Cities and Ed... read more

General Fields
: 9780062234735
: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
: Harper Wave
: 20.30 cmmm X 13.50 cmmm X 2.70 cmmm
Special Fields
: Jonathan F. P. Rose
: 480
: 711.4
: en
: Paperback
: books
The Well-Tempered City: What Modern Science, Ancient Civilizations, and Human Nature Teach Us About the Future of Urban Life
$40.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 History

With a foreword by James Naughtie
Turn the pages of the most famous books of all time and marvel at the stories behind them. Over 75 of the world's most celebrated, rare, and seminal books are examined and explained in this stunning treasury. Books That Changed Hi... read more

General Fields
: 9780241289334
: Dorling Kindersley Ltd
: DK
: 30.10 cmmm X 25.20 cmmm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Dorling Kindersley P
: 256
: 809
: en
: 1
: Hardback
: books
Books that Changed History
$50.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Historians love to write about rulers--kings, emperors, presidents--or about vast social forces--migration, industrialisation--but what if they are all missing the point? Thinking about our own lives, isn't it clear that what makes the world go rou... read more

General Fields
: 9780241298985
: Penguin Books Ltd
: Allen Lane
: 234mm X 153mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Niall Ferguson
: 576
: 302.309
: 1
: Paperback
: books
The Square and the Tower: History's Hidden Networks
$40.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 4