This is a story about you. It is the history of who you are and how you came to be. It is unique to you, as it is to each of the 100 billion modern humans who have ever drawn breath. But it is also our collective story, because in... read more

General Fields
: 9781780229072
: Orion Publishing Co
: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
: 198mm X 129mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Adam Rutherford
: 432
: 599.935
: English
: 1
: Paperback
: books
A Brief History of Everyone Who Ever Lived: The Stories in Our Genes
$25.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 History

Awards:Shortlisted for Society of Biology Book Awards: General Biology Book 2015.

100,000 years ago, at least six human species inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to ... read more

General Fields
: 9780099590088
: Random House
: Vintage
: 19.80 cmmm X 12.90 cmmm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Yuval Noah Harari
: 512
: 909
: English
: 515
: Paperback
: books
Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind
$30.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 History

The Riviera Set is the story of the group of people who lived, partied, bed-hopped and politicked at the Ch�teau de l'Horizon near Cannes, over the course of forty years from the time when Coco Chanel made southern French tans fashionable in the twenties to the death of the playboy... read more

General Fields
: 9780349139890
: Little, Brown Book Group Limited
: Sphere
: 198mm X 126mm
Special Fields
: Mary S. Lovell
: 16pp colour photos
: 448
: 944.990810922
: en
: 717
: Paperback
: books
The Riviera Set
$25.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 History

Series:The History of England

Revolution, the fourth volume of Peter Ackroyd's enthralling History of England begins in 1688 with a revolution and ends in 1815 with a famous victory. In it, Ackroyd takes readers from William of Orange's accession following the Glorious Revolution to th... read more

General Fields
: 9781509811472
: Pan Macmillan
: Pan Books
: 197mm X 130mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Peter Ackroyd
: 416
: 942.068
: en
: Main Market Ed.
: Paperback
: books
Revolution: A History of England Volume IV
$25.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 History

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER'Life-filled and life-affirming history, steeped in romance and written with verve' GUARDIAN'Richly entertaining and impeccably reserached' Peter FrankopanIstanbul has always been a place where stories and histories collide and crackle, wh... read more

General Fields
: 9781780224732
: Orion Publishing Co
: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
: 198mm X 129mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Bettany Hughes
: 832
: 949.618
: en
: 1
: Paperback
: books
Istanbul: A Tale of Three Cities
$30.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

The instant New York Times bestseller.
 
A brilliant recasting of the turning points in world history, including the one we're living through, as a collision between old power hierarchies and new social networks.
 
... read more

General Fields
: 9780241298985
: Penguin Books, Limited
: Allen Lane
: 234mm X 153mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Niall Ferguson
: 608
: 302.309
: 1
: Paperback
: books
The Square and the Tower: History's Hidden Networks
$40.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 History

At the end of 1918 one prescient American historian began to write a history of the Great War. "What will you call it?" he was asked. "The First World War," was his bleak response.In Between the Wars Philip Ziegler examines the major international turning points - cultur... read more

General Fields
: 9780857055231
: Quercus Publishing
: MacLehose Press
: 198mm X 129mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Philip Ziegler
: 304
: 909
: English
: Paperback
: books
Between the Wars : 1919-1939
$30.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 History

Series:Wellcome

Cannibalism. It's the last, greatest taboo: the stuff of urban legends and ancient myths, airline crashes and Captain Cook. But while we might get a thrill at the thought of the black widow spider's gruesome mating habits or the tragic fate of t... read more

General Fields
: 9781781253977
: Profile Books Ltd
: Profile Books Ltd
: 216mm X 135mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Bill Schutt
: 256
: 394.909
: en
: Main
: Hardback
: books
Eat Me: A Natural and Unnatural History of Cannibalism
$37.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

The extraordinary true story of the rediscovery of the Mayan civilization: In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Empire of Ice, comes the forgotten tale ... read more

General Fields
: 9780062407405
: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
: William Morrow Paperbacks
: 203mm X 135mm X 32mm
: United States
Special Fields
: William Carlsen
: illustrations
: 544
: bl2017014117
: 972.81016092
: English
: Paperback
: books
Jungle of Stone: The Extraordinary Journey of John L. Stephens and Frederick Catherwood, and the Discovery of the Lost Civilization of the Maya
$35.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

A concise and accessible study of the foundations, development and enduring legacy of the cultures of Greece and Rome, centred on ten locations of seminal importance in the development of Classical civilisation. Starting with Troy, where history, my... read more

General Fields
: 9781781855027
: Head of Zeus
: Head of Zeus
: 198mm X 129mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Nigel Spivey
: 288
: 938
: Paperback
: books
Classical Civilization: A History in Ten Chapters
$25.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

A SUNDAY TIMES TOP FIVE BESTSELLERSHORTLISTED FOR THE SAMUEL JOHNSON PRIZE 2014From the author of the New York Times bestseller A Train in Winter comes the extraordinary story of a French village that helped save thousands who were pursued by the Gestapo during World War II.High up in the mountains of... read more

General Fields
: 9780701188061
: Random House
: Chatto & Windus
: 234mm X 153mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Caroline Moorehead
: 374
: 944.0816
: en
: 1
: Paperback
: books
Village of Secrets: Defying the Nazis in Vichy France
$40.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

In this original and highly accessible book, Peter Jones takes the reader on a fascinating journey along the highways and byways of Roman life and culture, telling the amazing stories behind the original Latin meanings and uses of hundr... read more

General Fields
: 9781782399339
: Atlantic Books
: Atlantic Books
: 198mm X 129mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Peter Jones
: 352
: 422
: English
: Main
: Paperback
: books
Quid Pro Quo: What the Romans Really Gave the English Language
$25.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1